from RE-CYCLE to UP-SCALE Useful Garden Art

metal barrier 1

metal barrier as I brought it home

A few weeks ago I stopped at a garage sale and picked up this metal barrier.  I was told that it was used as a barrier around a public sign at a park.  At the time I wasn’t sure how I would use it or what I would do with it, but I knew it would go in the garden.

metal barrier 2

assorted tiles

I gathered up some tiles, also picked up at a garage sale for under $2.00 and glued the tiles on the metal barrier with a very strong construction glue.

metal barrier 4

barrier decorated

All done…   I decided to use it to keep the ‘red dragon’ persicaria from falling over.  I have used tomato cages to keep it from falling over before, but I like this better.  The red dragon needs to grow into it a bit, but overall a successful garage sale find up cycled into useful garden art for a song.

metal barrier done & in place

metal barrier done & in place

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in PROJECTS - GARDEN and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to from RE-CYCLE to UP-SCALE Useful Garden Art

  1. Dan says:

    Nice application . I think I have some of that stuff I got free off CL and I had to tie it up . I’ll send a picture sometime , love the stuff. It gets little white flowers on it .

Leave a Reply

