Be smart – STAY IN THE ZONE – the USDA plant hardiness zone!

$  Be Smart – STAY IN THE ZONE – the USDA zone!  $

the plant zonesmall

A cautionary tale… I’m a plant collector.  There…  I said it.    My criteria is simple… if I don’t already have it, I probably want it, if I do already have it, I may need another for another place.  We collectors all seem to find things that we ‘need’ in our gardens, even if they push the limits of our ‘zone’.

Last summer we bought several expensive zone 7 perennials.  We live in zone 6.  Unfortunately,  no amount of wishing, hoping, dreaming, or even mulching can coax that zone 7  plant through the sustained 8 degrees f during a winter cold snap.

It  just makes good sense to buy what will thrive in your area.   Save yourself the worry and aggravation as well as the cash.  Learn from our mistakes.  Be realistic when selecting treasures for your botanical collection.

Buy what will grow and thrive where you live.

In the mean time, we will continue looking  for any signs of life, a little sprout, just a small crack in the earth, anything to give us hope of returning zone 7 botanical treasures.  So far there has just been the disappointment of the empty spaces where we might as well have just planted cash,  since it doesnt grow either.

…..Of
course,   If they don’t come back, I guess we will just have to go shopping for more plants to fill those spaces.  This time I’ll take my own advise and stay within my ‘zonal limits’.

Wonder what your ‘safety’ USDA zone is?

here’s a link to the site: http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb/

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in EVERYTHING ELSE..., GARDENING - ORNAMENTALS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

