The Elusive Blue Poppy – Meconopsis

Last summer I bought a blue poppy from Dan Hinkley.   BluePoppy02 The blue poppies were among the other unique and interesting plants he had for sale.  We got to talking about the poppy and I explained that over the last few years,  I have tried growing them twice before and they did not survive in our gardens, despite having what should be the ideal conditions.  I decided to try it one more time after listening to him talk about how ‘easy’ they are to grow.   So… I bought it, discussed with my husband where the perfect spot would be to plant it.  It’s on the north-east side of the house where it gets just a bit of direct sun, mid-morning in the rare event that we have sun,  remember I garden in the pacific northwest.   I was so optimistic that it would be there for years, I made a permanent label for it.   light fixture greenhouse Update:  This spring it popped up,  we sprinkled a bit of slug bait around it and covered it with a mini-greenhouse.  This mini-greenhouse has helped to warm the soil on the bright days and has protected it from temps in the low 30’s as well as several hard rains and two hail storms and some high winds. This afternoon I pulled it off to reveal this (so far) perfect specimen of the elusive blue poppy. blue poppy I’ll update with photos of the blooms…. (she said optimistically)

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in GARDENING - ORNAMENTALS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

