RE-PURPOSED LIGHT FIXTURES MAKE GREAT MINI-GREENHOUSES

  • I love to find a great deal.
  • I love to re-purpose something someone might just add to a landfill.
  • I love to see my plant treasures thriving in my garden

Sometimes you just need a ‘mini-greenhouse’ to get some tender plants a bit of a start in the spring.   We’ve done it forever in the vegetable garden in the form of cold frames.

mini greenhouseswm

a few converted lights

I have an ‘interesting’ assortment of ‘mini-greenhouses’.   I am always looking for hanging light fixtures at garage sales.  There are lots of 70’s glass and brass fixtures being upgraded to something current.  The people selling them are usually as enthusiastic about finding someone that wants them  as I am when I see them, so I don’t ever pay more than a few bucks.

 

I bring them home and take the electrical ‘guts’ out.  This usually just requires about 15 minutes and a pair of pliers.  If there is a ring for hanging the fixture, I put it back on so I have an easy way to carry it around.  After throwing out the ‘guts’ what you are left with is a mini-greenhouse.  If there are a few screw holes in the top, it’s no problem, it just adds a bit of ventilation.

098

primula auricula ‘marmalon’

The delicate blooms of this primula auricula ‘marmalon’ have been protected against the bunnies, deer, elk, heavy rain, hail, and high winds that surely would have damaged or destroyed it.

Do be careful on sunny days.   Your delicate plants can sunburn.  I take them all off and store them when our weather turns warm.

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in GARDENING - EDIBLE, GARDENING - ORNAMENTALS, PROJECTS - GARDEN and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

