Daylilies – A Favorite of Mine

I’ve been collecting plants for about 25 years.

Daylilies have been a favorite, starting almost 30 years ago when I was pouring through seed catalogs and found seeds for some tetraploid varieties.  I started seeds and that was that.  The deal was sealed, I’ve been collecting ever since.  I took pieces from those first plants and moved them to ourhomeinthewoods with us, where they still grow.

My mother in laws neighbor was very active in the daylily associations and developed many of her own, before she passed away.  I was lucky enough to have been able to buy some from her, about 10 years ago and they are some of the most special and most beautiful in the garden.  Her standards were very high,  I just knew what I liked.   ‘Condilla’ is one of my favorites.  Thanks Margaret,  your daylilies live on in many gardens, rest in peace.

We have over 50 different varieties, maybe more and at least 500 in our yard.  It makes quite a show in the summer.  We have the variegated striped foliage daylily, one of the tallest, at almost 6 feet, ‘notify ground crew’ and one of the smallest.  They are almost all finishing blooming now with only a few lingerers slowly preparing for fall.

Daylilies are an easy to grow perennial.  Rather than spending words here… I will refer you to http://www.daylilies.org/AHSFAQsNew.html.  There you can get all your questions answered, but I will share a few of my photos with you.

Maybe daylilies will become a favorite of yours too.

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in GARDENING - EDIBLE, GARDENING - ORNAMENTALS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

