Elk – An Awesome Yard Pest

Elk

You know it doesn’t matter how many times we see them in the yard. I’m always mesmerized when I see them. They are huge, majestic and awesome, then reality slowly sets in. When I realize that they have eaten all but two leaves of a beautiful hosta, the awesomeness of the elk turns to awfullness! As soon as I take a few photos, one of us is outside chasing it out of the yard. More often than not they will end up heading toward the neighbors property. Elk are big animals and do a lot of damage. I collect hostas, we have several hundred and even with that many, I will notice any that are damaged. They eat the hostas as well as many other plants, while walking across the lawn the create big divets in the sod, and adding insult to injury… they leave rather large elk droppings.

I would be perfectly happy to watch them in someone elses yard from now on. I haven’t tried it myself, but I understand they can be pretty good eating! Better watch out elk! I’ve got hunter friends that would love to come over! 😉

These photos were taken through the double glass of the kitchen window and from about 50 feet away, with a i-phone.

Image

Image

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in WILDLIFE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elk – An Awesome Yard Pest

  1. Pingback: The Tender Bar « whitehothair

Leave a Reply

