Caterpillars be warned!

You know, if its not one thing…it’s another. Our garden is constantly under siege. It is protected adequately against deer, elk and rabbits. Today I went out to pick some kale for dinner. There, in all it’s glory is a caterpillar, just one caterpillar. My mind first travels to the cute little caterpillar songs I listen to with our granddaughter. They’re not so bad, in fact they’re interesting, even kind of cute. Then I notice how much damage one evil little caterpillar can do to the only really successful crop currently growing in the food garden. The very same food garden that was that going to launch us toward self sufficiency, well maybe not this year.

I immediately dispatched that caterpillar and looked for evidence of it’s friends and family. I didn’t find anything, but I will be keeping a watchful eye. The bad leaf isn’t a total loss. It was a treat that delighted the chickens. Caterpillars be warned! I’m looking for you.

Caterpillar update:  I went out again to pick kale.  Eagle eyed and looking for the furry predators.  OMG, I found 3 more. All different kinds colors and sizes.  The war is on!

 

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in GARDENING - EDIBLE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

