Garden Art – Molded Concrete Stepping Stone

This was an experiment in molded concrete stepping stone, that turned out well!

20120514-164321.jpg

I’ve done lots of other concrete stepping stones but this is the first time putting it into this kind of mold.  I don’t know what the mold was originally designed for. I found two of them at a garage sale for $ .50.

Disclaimer: I’m no expert,  I do a lot of experimenting and this one turned out well.  Your results may not be the same.

What you need:

  1.  Portland cement (concrete work is messy, do it outside, be careful when  mixing the concrete not to breath the dust.)
  2.  Sand
  3. Water
  4. spray cooking oil
  5. Some sort of mold ( plastic bin, jello mold, use your imagination )

Technique:
I mixed the cement with sand at about the rate of 2 parts concrete to 1 part sand, I think 1 part concrete to 1 part sand is recommended. Mine may not be as strong.

I sprayed the plastic mold lightly with cooking oil.

I gently pressed the concrete ( mixed to the consistency of brownies ) into the mix.

Let it dry in a cool damp place for a few days. Then gently un-mold and let it continue to cure for about a week before setting it out.

About ourhomeinthewoods

I am a wife, mother and nana to an amazing little girl! My husband and I have been working on a huge DIY project for since 1999 and for the foreseeable future. A great house and garden on almost 10 acres in the beautiful, scenic Snoqualmie Valley in the Pacific Northwest. We are very enthusiastic amature gardeners and do-it-yourselfers. We also try to balance great results with great economy, or in other words, we love saving money. The more we save, the more we can spend on more great plants!
This entry was posted in PROJECTS - GARDEN and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garden Art – Molded Concrete Stepping Stone

Leave a Reply

